Me, Myself, and I (and the god-damn Batma-er…this baking blog)

Today is December 16th, 2015, and I have an upper respiratory infection. I’ve been sick at home, and unable to go to work for the last three days, and I am:

  1. Bored.
  2.  Sad that I devoured the last two seasons of Parks and Recreation in three days and that there is no more Parks and Recreation to be had.
  3.  Inspired, because Leslie Knope, while fictional, tends to have that effect on people.

2015 has not been terribly kind to me. I cut ties with my parents, I had to vacate my last apartment in a hurry, and I’ll have to do it again before the year ends. My last car died, and I bought one for myself for the very first time. Also in a hurry. There’s been some weird emotional stuff that I still don’t quite understand and am still bouncing back from.

Don’t get me wrong, there were nice things about 2015. My friends remain awesome and supportive, my job is a pretty neat gig, and I’ve proved that I can stand on my own two feet in ways I didn’t know I was capable of, but it’s been tough.

I want 2016 to be different. Instead of focusing on putting out fires, I want to focus on the things that make me happy. One of the things that I realized makes me the happiest is cramming baked goods into the faces of the people I love.

I am by no means a professional. I get most of my recipes from the internet, and I will source them accordingly when I post, because this is for fun, and not out to make anybody mad. I hope to motivate myself to get better and try different things and also post pretty pictures (and possibly some flaming hot messes).

So enjoy, and thanks for visiting. 🙂

IMG_1497 (Photo by Maura Housley)

2 thoughts on “Me, Myself, and I (and the god-damn Batma-er…this baking blog)

Leave a Reply

