Lost Weekend (pt. 2)

So I made it home on Sunday morning at around 6:30, and proceeded to get a few hours of sleep, before wandering down to wish my roommates a very happy new year.

And also bake some Mandel Bread.

received_965312456868264

Thanks to Roommate Jaki for snapping this one!

For those of you not in the know, Mandel Bread is a cookie that originated with Eastern European Jews. It’s a little like biscotti, except that it’s more crumbly than crunchy.

The great thing about it is that you can basically put whatever you want in it. Chocolate chips, cinnamon, walnuts, peanut chips, banana (caution: dough gets hella sticky!), raisins.

Seriously, it’s super versatile, and really, really good.

When my grandmother would visit us, she’d make some up and bring a box every time. Hers were amazing. I hope one day mine will be just as amazing.

20160103_151355

Here’s the deal.

You can’t have my grandmother’s Mandel Bread recipe. If it looks good to you, then by all means, go find a recipe for yourself, but I’m not putting it here.

2 tips:

  • If you think you’ve used enough chocolate chips, you probably haven’t.
  • Screw the spatula. Use your hands for this one. It’ll be messy, but it’ll be worth it.

The ones my grandmother brought were usually chocolate chips and raisins. I usually just do chocolate chips, but again, you can pretty much do anything with these.

I would stay away from anything acidic. I attempted to use lemon juice once and it dried out the dough so badly I had to start over.

2016-01-07 11.51.11

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

