Gluten-Free Birthday Cookies!

This is Zoe:

zoe

You can’t tell, but she’s wearing a sparkly headband with plastic dinosaurs glued to it. It’s pretty great

Zoe’s birthday was last week, and Zoe…

Is gluten free.

There’s nothing wrong with being gluten-free. Weather it’s a lifestyle choice or for health reasons, it is a thing that people do.

However, it can complicate baking sometimes.

You uh…you ever tried baking with tapioca flour?

You guys. Fuck tapioca flour.

Thankfully, King Arthur Flour has a gluten-free shortbread cookie recipe.

Confession: I was kind of tired when I was making these, so more cinnamon wound up in the batter than there should have been, but cinnamon is pretty good, so that was fine. I also threw dried cranberries into mine,20160116_142722

The dough isn’t pretty, and I was worried about the consistency, because gluten-free baking makes me worry about everything.

Oh god, gluten-free cookies…have…did I pay my cell phone bill this month? Is…did I leave the headlights in my car on last night? What was that noise? Where are my keys? Where are my shoes? WHERE ARE MY SHOES?

*ahem*

20160116_185719

So the cookies turned out good! But they didn’t really taste like shortbread. They tasted like oatmeal raisin cookies. Which, again, they were pretty good, but they weren’t what I was expecting.

Because nothing ever is with gluten-free baking.

Leave a Reply

