Malted Mugged Cookies

These cookies were made for two reasons:

The first: this past weekend, myself and two friends were held up at gunpoint and our wallets were stolen, and it sucked. So they were, in part, “Holy shit, we just got robbed and a gun was pointed at us and life is nuts and terrible this week” cookies.

The other reason was as a thank-you to another friend who was around afterwards, who took me out and helped me drown (drown) my sorrows. He was pretty great. He deserved some cookies.

It was a seriously scary experience. I’ve gone from sad to angry to fine and back again all week long since it happened. It’s something I have to process, deal with and move on from. I’m working on it, and it’ll take me some time. I’m getting there.

In the meantime, there’s life and work and baking and friends and apparently, there’s going to be snow soon here in Baltimore.

So these cookies.

When I was a little girl, as a treat, my dad used to make chocolate malted milkshakes, and as such, we kept a glass jar of Carnation Malt Powder in the fridge:

e5ce25057c748baa4c548916057abc7b

I’ll be honest. I don’t…

I’ve never really thought about what malt powder is.

But according to Wikipedia, it’s evaporated gruel.

So…that sounds pretty nasty, but hell if it isn’t delicious with sweets.

I hadn’t thought about using it for anything other than milkshakes until a couple of years ago, when I found it in the store and thought “I wonder what cookies taste like when you add this.”

Answer: They taste awesome. That’s what they taste like.

My go-to recipe for this is from Cookies and Cups, but I don’t follow it quite to the letter. Because I use bread flour. Believe me, it makes all the difference. They are magically soft. You want bread flour for these cookies. You need bread flour for these cookies.

Trust me on this.

Vitex

Pete Tyler approved!

The last time I made these, I used all-purpose, and I was so disappointed in them, I nearly started over to see if I’d gotten the ratios wrong.

But no. It’s the bread flour.

The other thing I did with this particular batch was to use chocolate malt powder. I’ve made these with plain before, but I’ve had multiple people tell me these were better.

I actually don’t know how I feel about it. I love it both ways. Maybe one of these days I’ll do a taste-test comparison.

Since I was mugged, Mary suggested the cookies should be as well:

20160120_221512

Boom.

Mugged.

Leave a Reply

