Come to the Dark Side: We Have Chocolate Ganache

So I have a nifty li’l Pintrest board for Cake for Your Face!  It’s mostly delicious things that I would like to make at some point.

And on yon Pintrest board is This recipe for cupcakes with chocolate ganache frosting.

Now, I would love to tell you that I dove right in and made that recipe complete with the caramel filling, but the hard truth is that I chickened out big time.

Caramel is scary, you guys. I don’t know how to make caramel. It’s a mountain I don’t feel like I’m ready to climb yet.

So I went with William Sonoma’s Vanilla Cupcakes. I know, I know, so boring, but still delicious, and a nice, light vehicle for the ganache!

But first, let me tell you about my super cool roommates, and how they found Star Wars Cupcake Liners for me, and bought them as a surprise, because they are WONDERFUL!

Okay!

20160131_170556

The cupcakes happened. It wasn’t my favorite vanilla cupcake recipe ever, but it did pretty well.

So then you take 2 bars of semi-sweet baker’s chocolate:

20160131_171309

And you cover it with the heavy cream, corn syrup, and sugar you’ve just boiled, and it eventually melts into this:

20160131_171856

And then you take it out to the living room with you, and give it its own chair so you can sit around and watch Rick and Morty while you occasionally stir it for 20-30 minutes.

20160131_172414

Now, I got worried, and the recipe says that if it sets too much, you can put the ganache in the microwave for ten seconds and it’ll soften back up.

So I did, not know what “sets too much” looks like. And when I took it out, and shoveled it into the piping back it kind of made a big stupid mess.

But! Once the ganache firmed up, it looked like this:

20160201_081410

And was delicious.

Like screw the cupcakes, let’s just spoon this up.

One day I’ll tackle that whole recipe. One day, I will conquer the scary task of making caramel.

But for now, there’s ganache.

 

Leave a Reply

